Uysal G.

3rd Annual EuroMed Conference of the EuroMed-Academy-of-Business, Nicosia, CYPRUS, 4 - 05 November 2010, pp.1165-1171 identifier

  • Publication Type: Conference Paper / Full Text
  • City: Nicosia
  • Country: CYPRUS
  • Page Numbers: pp.1165-1171
  • Keywords: TQM Awards, Malcolm Baldrige Quality Award, European Quality Award, Deming Prize, ISO 9000
  • Ondokuz Mayıs University Affiliated: Yes


This study investigates TQM Award models to determine the quality standards for firms to achieve total quality management. TQM Awards explored are Malcolm Baldrige Quality Award, the USA, European Quality Award (EFQM), the Europe, Deming Prize, Japan, and ISO 9000, International Organization for Standardization. Major focus in TQM Awards for firms are: the Malcolm Baldrige desires to achieve performance excellence, the EFQM targets to provide of business excellence, Deming Prize wants to achieve organizational quality, and ISO 9000 wants to set up quality management system for firms. In conclusion, this study recommends firms to apply quality criterias of Deming Prize and ISO 9000. Because both Awards set up and provide firms of organization of total quality management (e.g., provide of quality assurance, continuous improvement, organization, maintenance, statistical process control, relationship with suppliers). The Malcolm Baldrige and EFQM use management practices to achieve desired business results (e.g., those management practices are leadership, strategy, resources, processes and human resources).